Welcome to the new Goldfrapp forum. Enjoy your new home! X
  • 139 Comments sorted by
  • Concerto for Harp  / Gliere

'' Sometimes I think I've felt everything I'm ever going to feel and from here on out I'm not going to feel anything new, just lesser versions of what I've already felt ''
  • I still find it bizarre that as one gets older there's something about classical that clicks. Never understood why but I wonder if it's because of both the space it holds and the distillation of emotion which we understand more by then?
    A million fires before your harvest comes. To burn out.
    Wear the mask of a heathen. For the moon's lonely eyes.
  • I've always partaken, as I studied classical music throughout my youth. My taste, however, has broadened over the years.
    If I were dead, could I do this?
  • Yes, Mum really enjoyed all kinds of music but when she was at the piano it was always classical so that is what I was brought up on...the fact that my sis is ten years older than me meant there was always other music to listen to as well so I can thank them both. Brother was away at university and Dad doesn't really 'do' music as such so their tastes were not an influence.
    '' Sometimes I think I've felt everything I'm ever going to feel and from here on out I'm not going to feel anything new, just lesser versions of what I've already felt ''
  • Oh, I've always heard classical through my life but it's only at this end of it that it kinda made sense in more than just a musical way? Hard to explain.
  • Hard to explain yes, however you made perfect sense. :)
  • It's likely that the typical adult brain is able to process music in a more holistic way than the young brain. The wiring in our brains changes as we age; as a result, we tend to see big pictures more readily, and we make connections across disciplines with relative ease.
    Post edited by iuventus at 2013-08-09 05:28:16