Welcome to the new Goldfrapp forum. Enjoy your new home! X
  • 4410 Comments sorted by
  • Pink Floyd, "What's ... uh, the deal"

Just friggin' love Meddle and Obscured by Clouds.
  • Another of the things I have learned from being so ill is that even listening to music requires some  unexpected bodily functions.  For instance, my adrenal responses are very erratic atm, and my natural cortisol production virtually nil. (I have to take steroids to do the job). As a result, the fine tuning of arousal hormones needed for normal moment-to-moment emotional responses is shot to hell. I veer between smiling blankly when "Paper Bag" plays, and weeping for hours over the theme music to Countryfile.  

Here's an interesting paper on the subject. Some highlights:

* if you take the opioid antagonist Naloxone, you won't feel thrilled by your music (when I worked as a nurse, Naloxone was my favourite drug - you could magically bring heroin ODs back to life, with virtually no side effects. Now I realise it may have ruined their appreciation of Pink Floyd)
    * hippocampus activity is inhibited when you listen to pleasurable music (the hippocampus is a key part of mobilising stress defences)
    *listening to self-chosen music reduces cortisol production compared to someone else playing you New Age music

• I recommend "Obscured by Clouds".
  • " listening to self chosen music reduces cortisol production..."
    Is that why I want to scream and throw a wobbler when I go in a shop and there's bloody Christmas music on?!!!
  • Cocteau Twins, bish!

If I were dead, could I do this?

• I take the needle off the Technics and put it in my vein
  • Oh, where are all the stuffy dickheads that didn't like people chattering away?  C'mon Alan, show them how it's done!
  • Oh, where are all the stuffy dickheads that didn't like people chattering away?  C'mon Alan, show them how it's done!