Welcome to the new Goldfrapp forum. Enjoy your new home! X
Silver Eye (main album thread)
  • 1576 Comments sorted by
  • If she hated it that much, why give it three stars.. just go for one

She probably liked that new awful Lorde song *rolls eyes* 
  • The most ignorant, petty and self-servicing music review I have read in recent memory, and I'm a writer / reviewer myself. A textbook example of how not to do it, and it has nothing to do with whether they liked the album or not, I can assure you guys.

When you review something professionally, you don't turn it into something malicious. You approach it as a civilized adult with an unbiased perspective to convey the same sensations the average listener would experience. Otherwise, it alienates and creates tension right out of the gate, leaving some unwilling to give it a listen themselves. The goal is to leave it open for them to decide. A review is your own "opinion" or take on something, true, but there's a precise art to it, as it is intended to present a piece of work to readers approaching it on a neutral basis themselves. Otherwise, it's an opinion piece similar to a letter to the editor. If you have criticisms, then great! Point them out, but you do so in a neutral manner that intelligently gets the point across. I can't believe this even got published. That bit at the end about metamorphosis was just pathetic. It is clear to me that this reviewer only cared about churning out a high-school-level "glob" (as they put it so eloquently) of text - only fitting to print and wipe one's arse with - in order to reach a deadline. I believe at times this person made some valid (neutral) observations, but they have much to learn.

Sorry, rant over. Not going to go on and on about this, as it riles me up too much since there are thousands of capable professional writers out there who would kill to have a proper review of the album published, regardless whether they enjoyed the album or not.